teaspoon of dirty

LetThemEatTwinkiesMost Sundays I spend the day fartin’ around and roasting or stewing things to bring for lunch for the upcoming week. I might get a little fancy and make myself a decadent breakfast (yesterday was french toast dipped in vanilla-infused brandy that I read about here), but usually Sundays are just filled with routine. A way to quietly roll forward into the work week. Yesterday, though, three of my girlfriends threw a mini LOLA art and craft sale which I happily attended. I bought several necklaces from Kylie for Christmas gifts. I’m wearing them all now and I’m really not sure if I can let them go. My neck seems rather pleased with them — buying early has its disadvantages. From there Kendra’s husband and I drove back towards Lawrence Village Proper (downtown). We both had a hankering for a cocktail and tried to conjure up a place that neither of us had been and that was potentially really cool. It was an unlikely possibility and one that we dismissed as soon as we had aired it. We decided upon Teller’s, which is a fine alternative. Feeling a bit peckish, I ordered a dirty martini. Olives! It’s rare that I order a martini, and, when I do, I feel like a grown-up. I feel like I should be wearing pumps and have kohl-rimmed eyes. Our conversation flowed from Julian Schnabel (we are both fans) to taco trucks (even greater fans). Martinis and a free-flowing exchange can make  you feel like you’re somewhere you haven’t been before.  Something unexpected. When I dropped Aaron off I ran up to their home so that I could say hello to their pup and have a small taste of the poblano-infused vodka that Aaron had made. Seriously spicy and perfect for a cold night. While dashing home I got a call from Kylie saying that she would be over in 10 minutes and would I mind going to Teller’s for dinner. Why not? It might prove to be some place new, again, with the passage of 37 minutes.

RabbitWallDecal

I felt the need for something hearty, as martini olives were thus far not enough to counter all the aforementioned vodka. I ordered the goat cheese and parsnip ravioli topped with slow-roasted pulled rabbit. It definitely pulled me outside of Kansas and transported me to a small village in Italy where men wearing wellies and tweeds walk right through the middle of a small cafe holding a bundle of dead bunnies. Maybe that’s not such a good vision. But again I experienced the feeling that I was wanting earlier. Being somewhere unexpected. I think it’s possible when your mood is right and you’re willing to let you mind wander.

One Response to “teaspoon of dirty”

  1. let me count the ways « Says:

    […] immense honor of spending an evening with Dr. Jim Seaver and his lovely wife, Virginia. My friend Aaron made this happen. So he and his lovely wife Kendra and I spent a spectacular and surreal evening […]

Leave a Reply

