beware!

“Eye of newt, and toe of frog,

Wool of bat, and tongue of dog,

Addler’s fork, and blind-worm’s sting,

Lizard’s leg, and howlet’s wing, —

For a charm of powerful trouble,

Like a hell-broth boil and bubble.”

William Shakespeare, Macbeth.

I spent the majority of this holiday weekend sitting in front of my fireplace poring over design books, magazines and my house plans. Rather than punch old grannies and cute puppies in the face for the City’s absolute molasses-like handling of my building permit (dear God, where is it?) I decided to instead be proactive by surrounding myself with beautiful imagery and faucet samples. 

But it’s now Monday, folks. There is no fireplace where I sit. Just the harsh reality that Christmas is around the corner and government types tend to get even lazier. As I’ve been really into sheepskins lately,  I thought about slaying a lamb for the Building Permit Gods, but I think lambs are just so cute and cuddly and I’d much rather have someone else do that which I think then makes the sacrifice null and void. It dawned on me that the nearest store to my plot of land is called the Village Witch. I’ve made many jokes about dashing to the corner store for a little eye of newt. But, now, I’m rubbing my hands together thinking about December’s full moon, a wee cauldron that Kendra gave to me, and a trip across the river to the Village Witch. The city won’t stand a chance. . .

 


One Response to “beware!”

  1. feeling soapy « Says:

    […] we are right now as a nation. Globally, really. I’m on the verge (I haven’t yet hired a hitman to slay me a lamb, but I think I’m still on the verge) of building my first home. I should be squirreling away […]

Leave a Reply

