too early to be thinking about it??

As promised, a perfect Bloody Mary recipe provided by A.J. Rathbun from his book, GOOD SPIRITS.

 

Ice cubes

4 ounces tomato juice

3 ounces vodka

1 ounce freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 dash Louisiana-style hot sauce (Tabasco or Red Hot works well)

1 dash Worcestershire sauce

1/4 teaspoon celery salt

Salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Celery stalk, dill pickle, or pickled green bean for garnish

 

1. Fill a pint glass three quarters-full with ice cubes. Add the tomato juice, vodka, lemon juices hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, celery salt, and salt and pepper. Stir well.

2. Add your choice of garnish (the pickled green bean is my favorite).

Mmmm. This sounds right. Makes me almost wish that I was needing the Hair of the Dog. . . But, I think even more, it makes me want to plan a brunch with friends this weekend. Casual and plunked down right in front of the fireplace. I didn’t do as much cooking as I would have liked over the holiday weekend. Things got complicated, what with my sister’s appendix taking a permanent leave of absence and all. So, maybe Sunday I will mix up a pitcher of A.J.’s Bloody Mary’s, make a spanish tortilla and build a big ol’ fire. I’ll be garnishing my Bloodies with Smokra and Mean Beans from my old place of employment, Rick’s Picks.

2 Responses to “too early to be thinking about it??”

  1. A.J. Says:

    “Perfect” seems to give so much weight to this little recipe. How about “pretty darn good” or “it’ll get your drunk if you have enough of it?” Also, I miss those Mean Beans, now that you’ve reminded me of them. Dang, they’re tasty.

  2. prairynation Says:

    Sorry, A.J., but I’m keeping “perfect”. You + drinks = Perfection. Or, danger!

Leave a Reply

