port of call

miss carlos

I would love to share a photo of Miss Carlos with you all, but this seems to be the only angle I see of her lately. I fear the poor dear is going to go tumbling down the heat vent! If so, I really hope that it turns into some kind of Narnia-like adventure for her and she’s all saving a magical land and revered for having a cock-eyed ear. And then she returns after what seems like months only to find that I still haven’t gotten to the store to get catfood and she still has to walk to the basement to do her business.

This evening, for dinner (for punishment?) I ate this:

soup

I’m making an effort to eat what’s in the kitchen until most items are exhausted. You see, the economy is a little lackluster. So, this soup is made up of the juice of one lime, zest of half a lime, 1/2 t. salt, 1 cucumber peeled and half an avocado. Whirl it around in the blender until it is smooth. The flavor is fresh and zingy and would be perfect on a 90 degree day. Not necessarily what I’m craving when it’s ONE DEGREE OUTSIDE! In order to survive, I’ve switched to spanish peanuts and a glass of port. I figure Spain and Portugal are neighbors, so why not?

This weekend’s Honey Do (I’m the ‘honey’ in this):

Choose bathroom sinks & faucets

Choose cooktop range. Any suggestions? Ones that won’t break the bank?

Post Script: Recipe found here. Judge if you will. But remember: in 5 days we will have a new president. We should be hopeful and nice. Celebrities have to detox, too.

4 Responses to “port of call”

  1. leslie Says:

    In college, some acquaintances challenged each other to not grocery shop until every single piece of food in the kitchen was consumed. The final meal: tahini on a stale taco shell.

  2. prairynation Says:

    I hope whomever created and ate the final meal was awarded some kind of honor. And a big bottle of wine to help swallow down the stale taco shell!

  3. Juan Valdez Says:

    Plumbing fixtures are the greatest expense and rip off when bldg a house. Be very practical. After 3 days of spitting toothpaste down the drain, you won’t even notice. Also, 1 dollar tile looks just as good as 14 dollar tile. When complete, none will be the wiser.

    • prairynation Says:

      God, this is the kind of practical advice I need right now! Thank you, thank you! Of course, knowing me, I will be the wiser when spitting toothpaste down the drain! : )

Leave a Reply

