doors, unicorns, make believe

Today I went over to my sister’s house to chat with my brother-in-law who is building my house. He had some crusty old doors from his grandparents’ farmhouse that he wanted to show me. They were weathered, dusty, wasp’s nest built in the panes. Perfect. I’ve already purchased two beautifully ugly doors months ago. Uniformity lacks spirit. Wrapping my brain around new construction is difficult enough. Having every second person ask me if my house is going to be ‘green’ or sustainable is boring and tedious. So, listen, I may not have solar panels, but I have some crusty doors that were somebody else’s first. They are not new. They are recylced. Reused. Loved.

two old doors

 Nina, my wee niece who is nearly 5, was wearing a tank top and shorts when I arrived there this morning. It wasn’t even 20 degrees outside. There is snow covering the ground. She had beach towels strewn about the living room floor. SHE WAS AT THE BEACH.  It was real enough that I could smell pineapples and hear the ocean. And I wouldn’t have been surprised to see a unicorn gallop by and pause for just a moment to wink at us.

A very dear and special part of my work closed down this week because of the economic crisis.  Some of my mates lost their jobs. I kept mine. There is much emotional fluttering going on in my heart, stomach, and brain. I feel small, young, and vulnerable. Make Believe seems appropriate right now. I think I will go to Hawaii this evening. Where will you go?

7 Responses to “doors, unicorns, make believe”

  1. kate Says:

    to 709 maine.

  2. prairynation Says:

    awww, shucks, Kate. I wish you were at 709. That would make me feel warm and happy.

  3. heather Says:

    Sorry for asking you about sustainable design, but glad I made it in your blog if in the most generic way.

    My parents have a chicken house full of stuff they want to find a new home for — I’ll take some pics next time I’m down on the farm. Maybe there’s something you can use. And the chicken house hasn’t had chickens in it for many, many years. It’s very clean. I once tried to get my dad to turn it into a little guest cottage. Guess he had better things to do with his time…

    Hang in there.

    • prairynation Says:

      Heather! Don’t be ridiculous! You are allowed to ask me whatever floats through your mind. I just fear that I don’t always have the answers everyone wants. Solar panels, wind turbines. . .I’m just happy when I can make any kind of decision in regards to building this house! Thanks, again for the great dinner and evening. I would love to see some pics of your parents farm. I can’t wait to have chickens in the future.

  4. ky Says:

    i can’t wait to see the metal door in place. it’s so interesting, and has a history which i wish i knew.

    • prairynation Says:

      I wish that I knew its history, too. I’m thinking that it will become the door for the second bathroom (the public bathroom, if you will). I’ve been seeing some of your jewelry strolling down my studio’s hallways.

  5. a moratorium on design « Says:

    […] places looking for something similar, but to no avail. That doesn’t mean I left those places empty-handed, it’s just that I didn’t find exactly what I was looking for. And this is only one […]

Leave a Reply

