a rendering. o, yes, a rendering

modern shotgun

 

I’ve been sitting on this rendering for a week. Afraid to show it to all of  you. What if you don’t like it? What if there is only silence? I suppose that you can nod, scratch your head, and cluck your tongues all you want. I won’t know. And you won’t know that I’m sitting here with a blanket over my head wondering if it’s okay that I told the plumber that I wanted to be able to control the temperature of my bathwater with only my big toe. That he needed to use THAT piece of information to figure out what kind of valve to put into the wall.

 I wonder if I’ll ever have grass that green? Or tulips that appear to be on steroids? I can’t stop myself from looking closely into the interior and squinting; where will I place my credenza (sideboard, buffet, whathaveyou) or the sofa that I don’t yet own? Will Miss Carlos still be springy and take a liking to the rooftop veranda? Will I find my friend’s alligator boots in the spare bedroom or somewhere else?

It’s Friday. Somebody say, “Amen.”  HAPPY EASTER!

15 Responses to “a rendering. o, yes, a rendering”

  1. e Says:

    rooftop veranda! raised garden beds! toe-temperature-controlled bathwater! I can’t wait to visit and swoon.

  2. prairynation Says:

    you had better visit and swoon, miss e! only to find out that there probably won’t be raised garden beds and that the color of the house won’t make you sing, “O, Christmas Tree”. But you’ll only find these things out when you visit : )

  3. leslie Says:

    AMEN!

    • prairynation Says:

      Leslie, What is the opposite of the TGIF ‘Amen’? What do you say on a rainy Monday morning? I’m enlisting your way with words and brain power. . .

  4. ky Says:

    so glad to see these! so exciting jen!

  5. Molly P Says:

    ok, i’m moving back to kansas. this is ridonculous! so happy for you.

  6. leslie Says:

    I was AMENing your house, but since it is Tuesday, and sunny, and my husband lost his shitty job, thereby making our summer poor but liberated (I can’t tell you how happy that phone call made me), I’m gonna throw out my grandma’s old Sunday-morning standby: TESTIFY!

  7. prairynation Says:

    O, I like TESTIFY and i hope that you won’t mind if I use it from time-to-time. I’m sorry to hear about Tim losing his job, but am happy that you two are happy about it. A liberating summer? WHAT is that and where can i find one? You will have to liberate yourself down to my new pad and we can toast in person! Also, thanks for AMENing my house.

  8. leslie Says:

    For sure. I can’t wait to set my eyes on those raised beds and have a cocktail while you tell us your plans for them.

  9. heatherwgibbons Says:

    Wow. Amazing. A million Amens.

  10. Bean Says:

    My heart skipped a beat looking at all that wonderful light coming in those windows. I am so excited for you. I love the rendering. Can’t wait to see it.

  11. prairynation Says:

    Heather: Thank you! I can’t wait for you, Scott, and Nora to spend some time there. We will have some amazing dinners together!

    Bean!!! O, Bean. I can’t wait for you to see it. There will be plenty of room for you and the family. Of course, a night on the veranda with you and Annie would be fabulous, too! Love and miss you!

  12. john Says:

    JEN
    I discovered the house and the whole prairynation via Leslie’s badassery post. So happy to see the house. Just this evening I was sketching my own thoughts for a long skinny house

    • prairynation Says:

      Glad you got to see the house via the blog. But nothing beats the real deal! You must walk th levee and check it out. I want to hear about your long skinny house. I seem to get more than a few raised eyebrows because of mine.

  13. i will gladly « Says:

    […] entire east elevation of the house and the two big chunky sections (chunky? I don’t know. See here for  a picture). The slim horizontal west elevation will have some kind of natural wood siding. […]

Leave a Reply

