trippy

maple

The hallway.  Long and Lean.

maple

The installation by Matt and Dave. Steve is working on the floor in the kitchen.

Truly, this floor is organic. It is swimmy and wavy and reclaimed.  Dave and I both agree that it would not be wise to partake of any hallucinogenics while hanging around this floor. Very trippy. It is not what I had envisioned. I saw pale, pale, pale uniformed maple. It is not what I envisioned, but I LOVE it. It’s good to be surprised.

kitchenceiling

The kitchen ceiling. Also reclaimed wood. Unfinished and not fussy. Rustic. I think it balances the modernity and newness of the house. I am thrilled with the end result. It’s strange to decide things and have a vision, but one that is not fully formed, and hope HOPE that it will work. That it will be cohesive and satisfying.  I still keep my fingers crossed.

And finally . . . . .

backtothefuture

This is the detour sign that I pass to get to my soon-to-be house. I wonder, am I moving to a different neighborhood or a different time in history? Will I start wearing long cloaks and have a tryst with Merlin?

2 Responses to “trippy”

  1. A.J. Says:

    That is the most amazing sign ever. I can’t even believe it. I would take that detour at any time–but would I ever get out of the detour? Doubtful. And the maple, the maple looks fantastic (as does the kitchen ceiling). Wow, it’s going to be amazing. Melin will love hanging out with you there, wearing cloaks, and drinking punches. And yes, I’m thinking about the drink.

  2. prairynation Says:

    I still can’t believe the sign, either! I really kind of want it. . . .Thanks about the maple, the ceiling, and still thinking about the drink!

Leave a Reply

