she had sparkles on her ear

Today the sun peeked out for a moment. Just a moment. It’s been raining and storming a lot in true Kansas fashion. All big and beautiful and a little wild. I was driving home from work on Monday during one of the storms when my boyfriend called me to make sure I was okay. I had trouble talking because the persistent and vengeful lightning seemed to be aiming directly at my gold tooth (cap, really, but a gold tooth sounds more dramatic) and my head felt full and swimmy.  Does your body freak out during electrical storms?

Lately, I’ve been  kind of sweating about my age. Feeling time ticking loudly. Then I remembered seeing this lady and thought that there’s plenty of time and ways to be a badass. Let’s make a pledge, friends. Everyone do one thing this weekend that makes them feel good and tell me what it is. I’ll do the same. Cheers!

2 Responses to “she had sparkles on her ear”

  1. heatherwgibbons Says:

    I have a picture of Russian dissident Lyudmila M. Alexeyeva, 82, on my pin board. Cutest little badass I’ve ever seen.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/12/world/europe/12dissident.html

  2. prairynation Says:

    Heather, I agree. I went to your link and love Lyudmila. An elegant little badass.

Leave a Reply

